February 19, 2018

For 2 Akis / Shinya Fukumori Trio

He longed for more fluid and interactive nature of music to eye scenes in Europe while groping for his own style in the U.S. with taste in culture as a Japanese on his mind.

What the Osaka native drummer was like around 2010 paved the way for his debut with the distinguished German record label he ached for.

Shinya Fukumori made his first appearance as the leader on ECM Records' catalogue on February 16th, 2018.

For 2 Akis / Shinya Fukumori Trio

- Shinya Fukumori (drums)
- Matthieu Bordenave (tenor saxophone)
- Walter Lang (piano)

01. Hoshi Meguri No Uta
02. Silent Chaos
03. Ai San San
04. For 2 Akis
05. The Light Suite ~ Kojo No Tsuki ~ Into The Light ~ The Light
06. No Goodbye
07. Spectacular
08. Mangetsu No Yube
09. Émeraude
10. When the Day Is Done
11. Hoshi Meguri No Uta (Variation)

Released: February 16th, 2018
Label: ECM Records

Fukumori and the members who recorded the album with him each have built a foothold in Munich, where the company is headquartered. Surprisingly, it was the first time for a Munich-based jazz band to publish a work under the label in about forty years.

As a matter of fact, before the trio began to work with ECM, they made a demo recording to hand in to the label. The session took place at Rainbow Studio in Oslo, Norway in 2015, which ECM is familiar with for their production. Fukumori took the French tenor saxophonist Matthieu Bordenave and the German pianist Walter Lang there at his own expense.

About a year later, in October 2016, Manfred Eicher, the founder of ECM, listened to them perform at a music college in Munich to decide to make a contract with them.

Eicher witnessed the album recording at Studios La Buissonne in the South of France in March 2017 as the producer.

He took part in the session as if he had been a fourth member to the trio to give them some ideas for a better rendition. The producer wanted them to play ensembles that sound like chamber music, according to Fukumori.

The title "For 2 Akis" means "for the two persons who are called Aki." They believe in and support Fukumori at the jazz club in Osaka, where he played the piece for the first time.

Along with his original works such as the title track, the album includes Japanese songs that make him nostalgic. They also remind him of the simple melody lines and chord progressions on beautiful Japanese tunes. He arranged them so that they would not lose the characteristics.

All through the track list, the sound flows in a subdued tone. The trio express their music sincerely as well as sophisticatedly.

When Fukumori decided to go to Munich in 2013, he wondered if he could be at least a side player for musicians who belong to ECM. But he steadily drummed ad libs and others in the regional field to come to prominence as an improviser.

Now that he has become the second Japanese artist as an album leader under the established Europe record label, Fukumori must be more ambitious for his future.

Isamu Nozaki at Jazz Up Japan, with reference to Way Out West vol. 107 February 2018

tag(s):music JAZZ CD TRIO ecm
posted by Jazz Up Japan at 11:32 on February 19, 2018 JST | review | このブログの読者になる | 更新情報をチェックする

February 16, 2018

The Monk: Live At Bimhuis / Miho Hazama & The Metropole Orkest Big Band

The pianist would never have thought that his works were performed by the Netherlands orchestra under the baton by Japan's artist in the year when he turned one hundred.

Japanese jazz composer Miho Hazama and the big band from prestigious Dutch orchestra The Metropole Orkest played Thelonious Monk's songs in four cities in the Netherlands in October 2017.

Refer to The Metropole Orkest's webpage
Refer to The Metropole Orkest's webpage

Their album "The Monk: Live At Bimhuis" includes seven pieces that were live recorded at Bimhuis, a concert hall in Amsterdam, during the tour. They were all arranged by Hazama.

The Monk: Live At Bimhuis

- Miho Hazama & The Metropole Orkest Big Band

1. Thelonious
2. Ruby My Dear
3. Friday The 13th
4. Hackensack
5. 'Round Midnight
6. Epistrophy
7. Crepuscule With Nellie

Released: February 14th, 2018
Label: Universal Music

In addition to the CD production, she accomplished some outstanding achievements in 2017: she created and performed a ballet suite for La Folle Journée au Japon 2017, assumed the Composer-in-Residence of Siena Wind Orchestra she conducted to play the suite, arranged the five tunes included in Herbie Hancock's album "Maiden Voyage" to make up a suite and premiere at Jazz Auditoria 2017 and so on.

She also regularly orchestrates Japanese enka songs for charity concerts hosted by Japan's public broadcaster NHK.

All such experiences must have contributed to the successful collaboration for symphonic Monk.

In 2017 many musicians covered Monk's music in celebration of the centennial. The ensemble woven into "The Monk: Live At Bimhuis" brings you another view of the jazz legend's world.

Isamu Nozaki at Jazz Up Japan

posted by Jazz Up Japan at 23:41 on February 16, 2018 JST | review | このブログの読者になる | 更新情報をチェックする

February 08, 2018

"I Called Him Morgan"

"I Killed Lee Morgan"

When more literally translated,

"Lee Morgan I Killed".

The Japanese title "私が殺したリー・モーガン" may sound more impressive to Japanese people than the original one.

The joint Swedish-American movie "I Called Him Morgan" depicts how the trumpeter came to let his wife commit homicide.

The motive of the crime was really common in the world.

What struck me is her son's talk. Lee was almost as old as he.

In addition to the main subject, a lot of precious photos and footage fascinate the viewers, in which some legendary jazz musicians are performing and speaking.

You will probably not end up thinking women are scary.

Isamu Nozaki at Jazz Up Japan

posted by Jazz Up Japan at 11:51 on February 08, 2018 JST | review | このブログの読者になる | 更新情報をチェックする